Hero Image

List of Democracy Schools

Recognized Democracy Schools Map

Explore the growing network of Illinois high schools that are dedicated to expanding and improving civic learning experiences across the curriculum.

Recognized Democracy Schools List

School names are followed by year of recognition. Some schools listed may not be an active member of the Democracy Schools Network.

Adlai E. Stevenson High School (2013)
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Contact: Brad Smith

Alcott College Prep (2014)*
Chicago, Illinois

Alton High School (2016)
Alton, Illinois
Contact: Carla Hilgert

Antioch High School (2015)
Antioch, Illinois
Contact: Anne Eichman

Barrington High School (2018)
Barrington, Illinois
Contact: John Roncone

Bartlett High School (2006)
Bartlett, Illinois
Contact: Kristen Allanson

Batavia High School (2017)
Batavia, Illinois
Contact: Joseph Cranston

Belleville East High School (2014)
Belleville, Illinois
Contact: Andrea Seipp

Belleville West High School (2014)
Belleville, Illinois
Contact: Stacey Posey

Belvidere High School (2017)
Belvidere, Illinois
Contact: Lourdes Maldonado

Belvidere North High School (2017)
Belvidere, Illinois
Contact: Teresa Kruger

Carbondale Community High School (2013)*
Carbondale, Illinois

Carl Sandburg High School (2010)*
Orland Park, Illinois

Carlinville High School (2017)
Carlinville, Illinois
Contact: Stacey Steiner

Carmel Catholic High School (2011)
Mundelein, Illinois
Contact: Julie Donner

Collinsville High School (2016)
Collinsville, Illinois
Contact: Barbara Lindauer

Community High School (2006)
West Chicago, Illinois
Contact: Lisa Willuweit

DuQuoin High School (2017)
DuQuoin, Illinois
Contact: Shawn File

East Leyden High School (2014)
Franklin Park, Illinois
Contact: Bernadette Ryan

Elmwood Park High School (2016)
Elmwood Park, Illinois
Contact: Mario Fiorito

Flora High School (2018)
Flora, Illinois
Contact: Kelli Massie

Foreman College and Career Academy (2020)
Chicago, Illinois
Contact: Dr. Corey Blake

Francis W. Parker School (2015)
Chicago, Illinois
Contact: Joe Bruno

Geneva High School (2006)
Geneva, Illinois
Contact: Sue Nagle

George Washington High School (2017)
Chicago, Illinois
Contact: Donald Davis

Gibault Catholic High School (2017)
Waterloo, Illinois
Contact: Kara Hoke

Glenbard East High School (2012)
Lombard, Illinois
Contact: Larry Grant

Glenbard North High School (2008)
Carol Stream, Illinois
Contact: Kevin Coon

Glenbard South High School (2009)
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Contacts: Cynthia McManus,
Ruben Rodriguez

Glenbard West High School (2012)
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Contact: Kristin Brandt

Granite City High School (2015)
Granite City, Illinois
Contact: Vince Willaredt

Grayslake Central High School (2014)
Grayslake, Illinois
Contact: Jason Janczak

Grayslake North High School (2014)
Grayslake, Illinois
Contact: Adrijana Bisevac

Hinsdale Central High School (2017)
Hinsdale, Illinois
Contact: Billson Rasavongxay

Hinsdale South High School (2020)
Darien, Illinois
Contact: Kathy Lencioni

Huntley High School (2017)
Huntley, Illinois
Contact: Renee Fowler

James B. Conant High School (2016)
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Contact: Andrew Mikrut

John Hancock College Prep High School (2013)
Chicago, Illinois
Contact: Andrew Martinek

Josephinum Academy (2013)*
Chicago, Illinois

Lake Park High School (2006)
Roselle, Illinois
Contact: Gina Mayo

Lakes Community High School (2012)
Lake Villa, Illinois
Contact: Grant Murray

Lindblom Math and Science Academy (2016)
Chicago, Illinois
Contact: Teddy Kent

Loyola Academy (2017)
Wilmette, Illinois
Contact: Mark McGuire

Maine East High School (2013)
Des Plaines, Illinois
Contact: Carl Brownell

Maine South High School (2012)*
Park Ridge, Illinois

Maine West High School (2009)
Des Plaines, Illinois
Contact: Sue Gahagan Mueller

Marengo Community High School (2020)
Marengo, Illinois
Contact: Bob Fecarotta

Marie Sklodowska Curie Metro High School (2016)
Chicago, Illinois
Contact: Homero Penuelas

Marion High School (2015)
Marion, Illinois
Contact: Monica Bolley

Mascoutah High School (2016)
Mascoutah, Illinois
Contact: Bennett Dibadjb

Metea Valley High School (2011)
Aurora, Illinois
Contact: Don Pankuch

Mooseheart School (2018)
Mooseheart, Illinois
Contact: Jeff Szymczak

Morton West High School (2017)
Berwyn, Illinois
Contact: Patrick Riley

Neuqua Valley High School (2012)
Naperville, Illinois
Contact: Tom McManamen

New Tech at Zion-Benton East (2016)
Zion, Illinois
Contact: Jeff Lobo

Nicholas Senn High School (2017)
Chicago, Illinois
Contact: Timothy Adams

Normal Community High School (2016)
Normal, Illinois
Contact: Hunter Watts

Normal Community West High School (2016)
Normal, Illinois
Contact: Tracy Freeman

O’Fallon High School (2015)
O’Fallon, Illinois
Contact: Christopher Busse

Oswego High School (2015)
Oswego, Illinois
Contact: Jennifer Keto

Oswego East High School (2015)
Oswego, Illinois
Contact: James Vera

Plainfield North High School (2016)
Plainfield, Illinois
Contact: Kristin Hill

Prairie Ridge High School (2015)
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Contact: John Pellikan

Round Lake High School (2018)
Round Lake, Illinois
Contact: Nicholas Pegarsch

Shawnee High School (2014)
Wolf Lake, Illinois
Contact: Mark Norris

Streamwood High School (2016)
Streamwood, Illinois
Contact: Nick Vassolo

Sullivan High School (2018)
Chicago, Illinois
Contact: Jocelyn Vale

Uplift Community High School (2015)
Chicago, Illinois
Contact: Joseph George

Waubonsie Valley High School (2012)
Aurora, Illinois
Contact: Adam Dyche

Wells Community Academy (2017)
Chicago, Illinois
Contact: Mike Stosek

West Aurora High School (2014)
Aurora, Illinois
Contact: Sarah Turner

West Leyden High School (2014)
Northlake, Illinois
Contact: Meghan Gleason

Westinghouse College Prep High School (2015)
Chicago, Illinois
Contact: Linda Becker

Wheaton North High School (2009)
Wheaton, Illinois
Contact: Hayley Lotspeich

Wheaton Warrenville South High School (2016)
Wheaton, Illinois
Contact: Steven Linhardt

William Fremd High School (2018)
Palatine, Illinois
Contact: Amanda Schmidt

York Community High School (2018)
Elmhurst, Illinois
Contact: Michael DiNovo

* Currently not an active member of the Democracy Schools Network